UM1
1 / 26  
2 / 26  
3 / 26  
4 / 26  
5 / 26  
6 / 26  
7 / 26  
8 / 26  
9 / 26  
10 / 26  
11 / 26  
12 / 26  
13 / 26  
14 / 26  
15 / 26  
16 / 26  
17 / 26  
18 / 26  
19 / 26  
20 / 26  
21 / 26  
22 / 26  
23 / 26  
24 / 26  
25 / 26  
26 / 26  

Spindrift - Sandsend

Sandsend, North Yorkshire
Sleeps 4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms 2
Change Fri
No Dogs
4 star
Open fire / woodburner
Internet access
Pub nearby
Shop nearby
Beach within easy reach
Luxury
Romantic
Family friendly
Towels included
Travel cot available
10 more

At a glance

  • A cosy and inviting family holiday cottage
  • Situated close to the North Yorkshire coast
  • Just a short walk from a beautiful sandy beach
  • Great for visiting Whitby and Robin Hood's Bay
  • Perfect for discovering the North York Moors
  • A lovely base for keen walkers or for relaxing on the beach
Property code: G0128

This delightful cottage is set in a tranquil coastal village close to Whitby and is ideal for couples or small families looking for a cosy place to stay, just around the corner from a sandy beach.

This traditional seaside cottage is set in the heart of Sandsend near Whitby. With its cosy wood burner for the evenings, sheltered stone patio for al fresco lunch in the warmer months and a beautiful beach just seconds away, this is the perfect coastal cottage for couples and small families alike. The ambience here is elegant and peaceful, with lots of little touches giving it a nautical twist.

Like so many of the old fishermen's cottages on the Yorkshire Coast, the house is tucked away up a quiet alleyway with a handful of other period properties. This lovely little cottage sleeps four people and is perfectly suited for two adults and two children. There is an additional en-suite double bedroom housed within a separate annexe in the garden, so it will sleep more if you're happy to share the cosy living area.

Inside the property, you'll find an atmospheric open-plan living space home to the lounge, kitchen and dining area. The lounge has two comfy sofas to curl up on and the wood burner keeps everything nice and toasty. It's hard to beat coming home from a walk along the beach and settling down by a real fire with a glass of something indulgent. For your evening entertainment, there's a TV and Wi-Fi is also provided. Or you could just switch everything off, open the window and listen to the sound of the waves and gulls calling high overhead.

With its solid wood units and open aspect, the kitchen is a pleasant place to rustle up a hearty Yorkshire breakfast. For lunch or dinner, how about some locally caught fresh seafood from one of Whitby's fishmongers. Settle down around the generous dining table to enjoy. Seating up to six when pulled out from the wall, this table is made for making memories around. The kitchen facilities include a gas hob, oven, fridge with an ice-box and a washing machine too.

Make your way upstairs to find a double bedroom, twin room and family bathroom. The master bedroom is surprisingly spacious and features a king-size metal bed. Plenty of storage available too with a built-in wardrobe. Next door is a bunk room, perfect for younger kids. Please note, due to the compact nature of this little room there is limited storage. The family bathroom is bright and cheerful. There's a bath for those that love a hot soak every evening, and a shower over the bath.

The additional bedroom is set at the end of the patio garden in a separate annexe. It comes complete with a double metal bed as well as an en-suite shower room with WC. It's perfect for adults who want their own space. Please note, this bedroom is not suitable for children as its separate from the main house.

The patio garden sits directly opposite the house across the quiet footpath. It offers a generous stone patio and is enclosed with a stone wall and white picket gate. It's completely sheltered from the coastal breezes and offers a quiet spot for lunch.

Parking is available roadside nearby on a first come, first served basis and there's also a large carpark just a few hundred yards away. Please note, that the original old steps up to the cottage can be uneven in places where the sea has weathered them over the years.

  • Sleeps 4+2 – additional en-suite bedroom housed in separate annexe
  • 2 bedrooms in main cottage – 1 double room with king-size bed, 1 bunk bedroom
  • 1 double bedroom in annexe
  • 1 bathroom in main cottage with shower over bath and WC
  • 1 en-suite shower room with WC in annexe
  • Oven, fridge with an ice compartment, washing machine
  • Wood burner
  • TV
  • Garden with patio
  • Wi-Fi included
  • Welcome pack included
  • Cot
  • Regret no dogs
  • Pub, shop and beach just a few metres away
  • Whitby 3 miles
  • Roadside parking is available nearby on a first come, first served basis and there's also a large carpark just a few hundred yards away (charges apply)
  • Please note the annexe is separate from the main house, making it unsuitable for children
  • Please note that due to the steps leading to the cottage being uneven this cottage may be unsuitable for guests with reduced mobility

The cottage is set in the beautiful and very popular village of Sandsend near Whitby - you can be walking along the beach within minutes of leaving the house. Tucked away behind the main promenade in the quiet side streets, this charming Yorkshire cottage is also just a few miles from some of the most stunning scenery in the North York Moors.

Sandsend is set on the beautiful North Yorkshire coastline; a heady mix of rugged cliff tops, peaceful bays and pretty fishing villages. With long sandy beaches and all the traditional seaside trimmings of yesteryear, you can indulge in a classic English seaside holiday. With its handsome promenade, long stretch of beach, several excellent eating options and world-class day spa, you could happily spend your whole holiday here.

The cottage is also just 3 miles from the beautiful town of Whitby. You can walk here along the beach from Sandsend. With its seaside heritage, excellent restaurants, independent shops and host of bars and cafes along its medieval streets, it has so much to offer the discerning holidaymaker. It's also well worth striking out to sample some of the other coastal villages nearby.

Robin Hood's Bay (8 miles) is one of the most popular coastal locations in Yorkshire or the UK for that matter. The village is a maze of cobbled streets and higgledy-piggledy houses which seem to tumble down towards the sea. Staithes and Runswick Bay are also under 8 miles away, each with their own unique charm.

Head inland from the cottage and you can be in the heart of the North York Moors within minutes. Take a tour of the impossibly pretty towns and villages in the area, Egton, Danby, Castleton and Rosedale. Or head up on the high moorland of Castleton Rigg, we guarantee on a clear day it will take your breath away.

This property is personally managed by Marion.

Reviews

From guests that have stayed at the property.

Based on 17 guest ratings

Overall cleanliness
3.5
Overall equipment
3.8
Overall comfort
3.5
Overall location
4.3

Reviewed by Anne 2nd August 2019

Really enjoyed our last minute stay. Great location bonus courtyard across the path (seriously only two steps) to sit in the sun. Only two of us and the cottage was perfect but defo would not recommend for a party of six whilst there are adequate bedrooms and all very nice the lounge / dining area would just not be big enough. Great that the locatiRead moreon was on the bus route. Went in August and had no issue parking (24 hours in council park 6). Welcome pack great fabulous for two people to get away Hide

Reviewed by Carole 28th June 2019

Perfect location for a quiet relaxing break - the weather was perfect too which helped. Lovely waking up to the sound of the sea every morning. Cosy little cottage for 2 but we felt that it would have been a struggle for 6 to fit in.

Reviewed by Liz 14th June 2019

The cottage was clean with lots of thought/attention to detail evident. It is probably cosier than one assumes from the website. We found even as a couple, space felt limited. if the weather is bad & you are forced to spend more time inside the cottage, I think this would not be very comfortable with 4 adults & 2 children. Nice touches - lovely welRead morecome pack, great towels & shower. However, if you are very tall (i.e. over 6 ft) or wide, you may find using the toilet awkward/may hit your head. Hide

Reviewed by Nick 29th December 2018

Good cottage in a great location. The separate annex worked well for us. All 3 bedrooms good size and well equipped. Bathroom was good other than the bath, not the place to have a relaxing soak as the website suggested.Most disappointing issues were the fireplace not being clean on arrival, welcRead moreome pack was a bit naff (2 packs of walkers hardly local and festive) and only one set of keys.

Response from Gorgeous Cottages:

Hi Nick, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review, it is appreciated! We have spoken to the owner regarding the points you have raised and she has now confirmed a full review of the property will be done to make sure the issues do not happen again. We look forward to welcoming you back to Yorkshire soon. Take care.Louise Hide

Reviewed by Bernadette 20th October 2018

Myself and my husband stayed at Spindrift from Monday - Friday during October half term. The cottage is perfectly positioned and beautifully maintained. The cottage has been renovated to a high standard and is clean and well equipped. Yes it is small and although it says sleeps 6 (including the annex) we feel this would be a push. It is perfect forRead more two people and four would be ok but may feel crowded at meal times. The cottage has a lovely bathroom with great shower!! We made use of the wood burner and brought extra logs etc from home. Parking on the road outside the cottage was fine but Im sure its a lot busier during the summer. We loved the fact that directly across the road we could sit with a sundowner and watch the sea as the sun set. All in all a wonderful week spent walking, eating,drinking and relaxing with the lovely Sandrift as our bolt hole. X Hide

Reviewed by Elizabeth 29th September 2018

The cottage is beautifully located and very welcoming. Sandsend is very tranquil but the hustle and bustle of Whitby is on the doorstep.

Reviewed by Lisa 1st September 2018

We enjoyed our week at Spindrift, and found the cottage to be cosy and comfortable. It has been furnished with care and although very small, we had everything we needed for a great stay.For us (2 adults with children aged 10 and 7) it was the location that made it really. You just go down a few steps, cross the road and you are on the beach - perRead morefect! We had grandparents to stay one night and they used the annex in the garden area. Again, it's very small but was fine for the odd night. I don't think you'd want to have six people there for long as the dining and lounge area in the cottage only accommodate 4. The little courtyard area was sheltered and lovely in the sunshine. It's not private, as a footpath runs right past, but that didn't matter to us. We BBQ'd sausages one afternoon on the disposable BBQ supplied in the cottage - a thoughtful and appreciated gesture, as was the welcome hamper.We did have trouble with the sink not draining in the kitchen and the oven fused the electrics a few times so these need to be addressed. Also, the broadband wasn't working which was a real shame (we had been informed of this before our stay). Apart from that, everything was great. The little shop is a few doors down and is fab for daily provisions, and they also make pizzas to order. Fab meal (for the grown ups!) at Estbeck House and we also had a nice family meal at The Hart pub, all a very short walk from the cottage. Sandsend is just beautiful, brilliant for children with the safe shallow pond that has been created on the beach. Hide

Reviewed by Tina 25th August 2018

This is a pretty cottage a moment from the beach. Very charmingly furnished although the annexe is a bit cramped. We had a lovely holiday and Sandsend is perfect for children.

Reviewed by Paul 18th August 2018

We really enjoyed our stay at Spin drift. After reading some earlier reviews we were concerned about what to expect. However we were really pleased with what we found. We went with our two sons (6yrs and 14months) and they loved it. As well as a promised travel cot for our youngest, there was also a lovely highchair and stairgate in place!As statedRead more in another review the annexe (with patio) is across a small footpath, but we didn't need this.The main bedroom is large and the bed is very comfy, whilst the small bedroom features a bunk bed which our eldest tested both bunks. The ceiling is quite low in there, but he was fine with it.The bathroom has a very clean and modern look, with two different shower heads to choose from over the bath.The beach is very close (down the steps) and provides a wide expanse of sand to roam (you can walk to Whitby along the beach, apparently, if you have an hour or so to spare). Access to the cottage is up some steps, however if you have a buggy (like us) it is easier to approach from very shallow steps located to the right of the main steps (check on Google Street view).There is a local shop, which sells a few essentials and several places to grab something to eat and drink during the daytime (Tides and Sandside). There is a Lidl just over 5 minutes drive for anything else.The only disappointment was that the WiFi did not work (not unusual for Sandsend!). however, we would consider returning, as it is a great, quiet village and a great cottage. Hide

Reviewed by Kathryn 13th August 2018

I liked the decor, it was clean and tidy and great location for the beach. We knew it was small but seemed a bit smaller in real life but by the end of the week we were used to it. There were 4 of us and I do think it would be cramped with any more people. For me there wasn't enough mirrors in useful places, things to hang towels on to dry (we Read morehad airer up in the bedroom in the end) and hooks on back of doors always useful when space is tight. Annex may be better used as utility/storage/garden room. Cottage is reached via steps and faces another cottage. Parking roadside is limited so we bought a permit from Whitby Tourist Office (you can get for 2-6 days 8 a day) and allows you to park in long stay car parks in the whole area. Sandsend was busy as weather nice so parking spaces limited at busy times. We had a problem with the front door but the Caretaker was easily contacted and sorted it out quickly for us. Overall the cottage is fine it just won't suit everyone depending on what sort of holiday you want and what you want from a cottage. Hide

Reviewed by Valerie 30th July 2018

Cottage was much smaller than expected. Supposedly for 4 adults and 2 children. We were 2 adults and 2 children and felt cramped. The dining table has 6 chairs, but if 6 people sat round it, table would need to be pulled away from the wall, which would then block access to the kitchen. 4 of us felt very cramped and uncomfortable as the chairRead mores were heavy to move and the seat moved around when you sat on it.Kitchen worked fine for us and the welcome pack provided was very much appreciated. However, the sink did not drain well at all. My husband spent a long time trying to improve it.Lounge has seating for 4 and not much space around the 2 settees for people to move around the lounge and certainly insufficient lounge seating for 6 people. Took a while to set up the TV because there were no instructions for the BT box, only for the TV. Very few games to use and there were missing elements from each one, except Connect 4. There was no information in the cottage about the local area: walks, bus timetables, things to see and do etc. We left bus timetables, maps etc in the cottage for the next people to use.Would have been useful to have a crate, or something similar to put shoes in by the front door. There is a shoe rack but with 4 people, this did not give enough space.Upstairs the main bedroom was small, did not have a lamp and bedside table on each side. There was a pouffe, but this was not stable enough to put, say a mug, or glass of water on. The bedroom with the bunk beds was extremely small and our granddaughter, aged 7, on the top bunk had no room to sit up, because her head was touching the ceiling if she did.The bathroom was nicely fitted but the shower riser needed attention as it easily fell down from its position. The toilet seat was loose. The brush to clean the toilet was in a very soiled state.We were surprised the garden and annex were situated outside the front door of the cottage, and to get to it, you had to cross a public footway. The Annex was nicely fitted and the shower worked well in here. But again, small. Bed right up against the wall so if someone needed to get out of bed in the night they would have to climb over the other person to do so. In general there were insufficient sockets. For example, a hairdryer is provided for the main bedroom but there is no socket near the dressing table. So the only way to use it was to plug it in to a socket in the small bedroom, trail the lead from there into the bathroom where you could just see yourself in the mirror, consequently extremely difficult to style your hair. We were annoyed that on Wednesday afternoon builders arrived to fit windows into the next-door cottage. Their materials were right outside the front door and to be on holiday with hammering and banging going on is not what you expect. The person responsible knew owners of Spindrift cottage so I would have felt it courteous to at least let us know this was to happen and I feel a discount should have applied to compensate for the disturbance to our holiday.Overall, I felt the cottage was 'staged'. It looked beautiful. Lots of lovely ornaments and objects around but money would have been better spent on getting the plumbing sorted out, installing extra sockets around the place for all the electronic gadgetry people have these days. We did enjoy our holiday in Spindrift but feel it was very much over-sold and very poor value for money. We definitely would not recommend it as advertised. Hide

Reviewed by Deborah 23rd June 2018

Spindrift is a cosy cottage with the added bonus of a patio which is perfect for the afternoon and early evening sun.Just a short walk away there are cafes and a local pub which serves food.The cottage is situated just by the seafront in a great location but there are some steps up to it.We stayed as a couple and would certainly return.

Reviewed by Kate 9th June 2018

We enjoyed our stay at spindrift however I think you would feel very squashed if there were anymore than two people (its advertised as sleeps up to 6). Its great location by the beach unfortunately means that access and parking is an issue. We had to park the car quite far away from the cottage and climb steep steps with a pram every time we returnRead moreed from a day out. I therefore wouldnt recommend this for people with small children but would be ok for a couple. Hide

Reviewed by Patricia 15th May 2018

Cottage not quite as the images show, very dark and need lights on during the day, outlook from window was a stone wall and a property that was in need of renovation, windows were filthy which made the outlook from living room window even worse, outdoor space not private as images seem to show x wouRead moreld highly recommend Sandsend as a holiday resort though x Rusty shears coffee shop in Whitby also highly recommended x

Response from Gorgeous Cottages:

Hi Patricia, Thank you for your constructive feedback which is really appreciated. Spindrift is a little Yorkshire Coastal Cottage which is situated up some quaint stairs on the front at Sandsend and among other little fishermans cottages . The windows are often affected by the spray off the sea however, the owner has taken your comments on board and will take steps into making sure the windows are as clear as they can be for all future guests. I am delighted that you would recommend Sandsend, it is a great area to stay at. Yorkshire has so much to offer so please hurry back soon. Take care Louise Hide

12 more
Show 14 more

Location

Map
Note: As the postcode is used to identify the general area of the property, it may not always reflect its precise location, therefore please only use this map as a guide.

With a varied landscape of windswept dales, heather-clad moors and dramatic coast, interspersed with picturesque towns and villages, vibrant cities and a rich historical heritage, Yorkshire is rightly considered one of Britain's premier holiday destinations. Known as 'God's Own County', Yorkshire has nearly one-third of England's National Parkland, two Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty and three sections of coastline designated as Heritage Coast.

Offering infinite opportunities for lovers of the great outdoors, the wild expanse of the Yorkshire Dales National Park in North and West Yorkshire is a glorious mix of awe-inspiring scenery, imposing castles, characterful Dales' villages and drystone walls. While to the east, the North York Moors National Park offers atmospheric moorland, fragrant pine forests and charming towns tucked away within steep-sloped valleys. Extending all the way to the Yorkshire Coast, you can even experience a traditional day at the seaside at popular resorts including Whitby, Flamborough and Scarborough. It's a beautiful terrain to explore.

A visit to the historical city of York is a must. Renowned for its medieval architecture, the magnificent York Minster and a myriad of museums, independent shops and exceptional eateries, you will not be disappointed. Then there's the chalk landscape of the Yorkshire Wolds, known to have inspired David Hockney. And with a packed calendar of events and festivals each year, including the Malton Food Festival, the Tour de Yorkshire and the Great Yorkshire Show, there's always something exciting to enjoy.

Our holiday cottages in Yorkshire are handpicked to ensure a luxurious and uniquely memorable experience. From dog-friendly cottages in the country to large family houses by the sea and romantic retreats in the city, we have a holiday in Yorkshire to suit everyone.

The Travel Chapter Limited, trading as holidaycottages.co.uk | The Travel Chapter Limited is registered in England and Wales. | Registered office Travel Chapter House Gammaton Road Bideford EX39 4DF Company No. 02431506 | VAT reg: 143053210